image description

Monthly Tourism Chat Scotlandhour Launches Twitter Takeovers

Scotland's best loved monthly tourism and travel Twitter chat, #scotlandhour, has launched a new series of Twitter takeovers.

The takeovers, which started with the February 2017 chat, will run every second month on special tourism themes, and the Scotlandhour team is looking to work with tourism organisations and bloggers to extend its reach.

The first takeover, celebrating Scotland's Year of History, Heritage and Archaeology, (#HHA2017) took place on Wednesday 22 February and generated a huge amount of inspiring content, with takeover hosts, DigIt! 2017, Registers of Scotland, and The Castle Hunter enthusing tweeters from across the globe.

#scotlandhour tourism Twitter chats take place on the last Wednesday of every month, from 9-10pm and look for volunteer co-hosts.

The Twitter takeovers will run in April, June, August, October and December and will allow targeted co-hosts to manage the chat for an entire month.

The March 2017 chat celebrates unique places to stay, with plenty of scope for inspiration by businesses across Scotland.

Interested in taking part or volunteering as a co-host or takeover host?

Find out how to prepare and participate in #Scotlandhour at and check out the calendar themes below.

Follow Scotlandhour on Twitter: @scotlandhour or check out tweets on the hashtag #scotlandhour

Scotlandhour Twitter Chat Calendar 2017 (9-10pm)  Months marked with * are takeover months

Wednesday 25 January: Smiles

Wednesday 22 February: Year of Architecture, History, Heritage*

Wednesday 22 March: Unique Places to Stay

Wednesday 26 April: Festivals and Events*

Wednesday 31 May: Artisan Food and Drink Producers

Wednesday 28 June: Routes and Trails*

Wednesday 26 July:  Sea Scotland (Rivers, Canals, Boats, Cruises, Watersports)

Wednesday 30 August: Social Scotland– blogger takeover*

Wednesday 27 September: Green Tourism

Wednesday 25 October: Halloween & Winter Festivals*

Wednesday 29 November: Digi Tourism: Best Apps, best sources of online travel inspiration

Wednesday 13 December: Christmas & New Year (earlier date for convenience)*

comments powered by Disqus